I smiled.
Even when it stung my pride, leaving deep bloody sores of shame.

I smiled.
As each adjective unmasked the monster she saw in me.

I smiled.
Inside,  there was heat, there was pain, but I couldn’t raise my voice (or my hand).

They would call me weak.
And there were no scars to tell the full story.

I smiled.
But deep inside it choked my little embryo of happiness.

Emotional abuse just doesn’t ring the right bells.
All I can do is smile.

 

Featured Image by Fabiola ArtFabiola ArtFabiola Art

One thought on “Silent Bells

Leave a Reply

